Tags

,


 142606-425x282-shocked_woman_computer

So I was browsing down my Facebook feed when I came upon a post from a woman I used to work with. We still see each other often, and we do plenty of meet ups with each other and other close friends. This post was a blatant stab at my faith, not me personally, but against Christians in general. As I proceeded to look down all the comments, I read one after the other, each of her friends mocking Jesus and Christians. Poking fun at how we believe these stories, and “believers” reject anything that isn’t what they believe to be true or have been told to believe in “their book”, and so on. I was stunned, but I guess I really should not be anymore. My initial thought was That’s it! DELETED! Goodbye “friends”! Then I paused. Nope, not gonna do it! Then I wanted to chime in and say a few things, Nope, not doing that either. Instead, I prayed. I prayed hard.

I had to take it to God, I was angry at their words. I was angry that they posted that, all the while knowing they were generalizing, exactly what I’ve been told Christians do. They made a general statement about Christians and yet I’ve been told many times not to make generalized statements about their beliefs or lifestyle. These women, at least to my face, have never said a negative word to me about who I am, or my belief in the one true God.

After praying, I called my sister, and she said something to me that made me stop dead in my tracks, Remember Faith, they hated him first. Ahhh, yes, this isn’t about me. Silly me, now I remember, He said they would hate me because of Him. “Remember what I told you: ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also. If they obeyed my teaching, they will obey yours also.” John 15:20 At that moment I broke down in tears, and truly mourned what I feel is the loss of certain friendships. Now granted, they are able to say whatever they want on their Facebook page, and it is my choice to read it, but that does not negate the fact what they were saying hurt. Am I saying that as a Christian I can’t be friends with non-Christians? Nope, not at all. What I am saying is, I may be the only experience of Christ they will ever get and I feel saddened that I haven’t done enough to show Christ’s love through me. They still have this view of Christians, and they haven’t seen enough of Jesus in me.

I have prayed every time before we have met up that God would open a door so that the Holy Spirit would speak through me to them. Each time, without fail, my faith has been brought up, and quickly dismissed. We have talked several times, and not one of these ladies has ever even opened up the Bible. They are passing judgment based on what they see Christians doing. Disagreeing with their beliefs, condemning them, hating people, and so many other acts that some Christians may demonstrate. It is extremely hard for them to see Christians acting a certain way, and basing their opinion on Jesus based on us. The entire Gospel is about how Christ came to save us, not condemn us, and so many Christians condemn others when it is not our place. We are called to love them, and spread the Gospel. So tough though when my friends have absolutely no interest what-so-ever in hearing about the Gospel. It truly breaks my heart that they want nothing to do with our Savior.

I’m finding the more I disagree with them, the more adamant they are about making fun of me because I believe in Christ. So instead of getting hurt, upset, or even angry about their words, I’m just going to love them. Love them to pieces, and hope that eventually they will see Jesus through me.

row-of-hearts

