Tags

,


Today is a ridiculously hot day, and I have done everything I possibly could to wear my son’s energy down. Finally, after the pool, he had enough and was ready for a nap. I wanted to sit down and post something that I had written a week ago, just never got around to posting, but I needed some water first. I remembered it was a new water container, so I needed to cut it open, nothing out of the ordinary, in my house we punish water! I grabbed a knife and began to cut it open, the next thing I knew the spout popped off and water was gushing out all over my kitchen floor! Just like a girl, I was screaming and trying to cover up the hole so I could run it to the sink. I took a look around my kitchen, and it was more like the swimming pool I just left than my kitchen floor. It permeated under the fridge, under the stove, to the carpet, and everything was soaked. Where do I even start? I took a deep breath, and asked God, Is there something I need to learn in this situation? (I think every thing I go through in life is because I need to learn something from it, or somehow missed the previous message)

Screenshot_2014-05-14-14-12-04-1

In that instance all I could think about was sin, my sin, anyone’s sin, just sin in general. The water covered my floor SO FAST! It was out of control and in less than 5 seconds I had almost a gallon of water making its way to my carpet. That is truly how I feel sin can be, it can spread just like the water did, and it will seep into every area of your life. It took a long time to clean this mess up, and just when I thought I had gotten all the water, I would find another puddle! This never-ending water mess was starting to get on my nerves. Another deep breath, and back to mopping I go.

Lately, I’ve been feeling my flesh going to war with the Spirit, and let me tell you, it can be disheartening. I’ve felt myself growing weary of doing the right thing, or not fulfilling fleshly desires. Then I realized it’s because I haven’t spent as much time with my Father. I feel that part of me begging to get out and act out like I used to. I really have to stop and ask myself if I am really going to get the pleasure of doing what I want, versus doing what God wants. The answer to that is no, I find those urges screaming at me, but for what? I don’t even enjoy thinking certain thoughts, or doing certain things that I used to. It’s like the water; I’m still finding little puddles of sin in my life that need to be mopped up. Just when I thought a certain area was cleaned up, I was wrong, I need to mop it up with God’s Word before it permeates through the rest of me. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28 Why am I not going to Him when I feel this way but trying to fight harder against these feelings? I can’t possibly win with the flesh, so why am I fighting with my strength? The Lord tells me to “Put on the armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.” Ephesians 6:11

Screenshot_2014-05-14-14-52-48-1-1

“So I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. For the flesh desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the flesh. They are in conflict with each other, so that you are not to do whatever you want. But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the Law.” Galations 5:16-18

So this is my prayer for myself, and others who are struggling with their flesh: Father, I know I am a sinner, and I know without You I can’t possibly overcome this. Help me put on Your full armor, day in and day out, so I may have victory against my flesh through You. Please strengthen my faith God so that I know that You have not forgotten about me in my battles. You have already won the battle Lord and all the glory belongs to You. Please help me walk the walk that is worthy of being set apart from others, and find rest in Your arms. Sanctify me Lord, In Your Name, Amen

